EDUCATION IN ONTARIO.

College (Presbyterian). The governing bodies of the University consist of (1) the board of Governors administering the property; (2) the senate controlling the academic side and (3) the caput dealing with discipline. Convocation consists of all the graduates of the university and of federated universities. The universities in other parts of the province, which are not federated with or affiliated to the Toronto University, include Queen's University at Kingston, and the McMaster University at Toronto (Baptist). There are also a number of institutions for special training, including the Royal Military College at Kingston (an institution of the Dominion Government); the Western University, London (Medicine and Arts); the College of Art, Toronto; Conservatories of Music, Toronto, Ottawa and Hamilton; the Royal College of Dental Surgeons, Toronto; the Ontario College of Pharmacy, Toronto; the Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph; and the Ontario Veterinary College, Toronto.

Private Schools.—There are also a number of private educational institutions, including, for boys, Upper Canada College, Toronto; Trinity College School, Port Hope; Ridley College, St. Catharines; and Ashbury College, Ottawa; and for girls, Bishop Strachan School, Toronto; Havergal College, Toronto; Moulton College, Toronto; Ontario Ladies' College, Whitby; Alma College (Roman Catholic), St. Thomas; and the Presbyterian Ladies' College, Ottawa; besides convent schools in

Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, Brantford and London.

MANITOBA.

General Organization.—The elementary and secondary schools of Manitoba are under the control of a Minister of Education, who is advised and assisted by a Deputy Minister and a Superintendent. An advisory board, composed of twelve members, prescribes curricula, authorizes text books, grants standing and controls examinations. Two of the members of this board are elected by the public school teachers of the province, one by the high school teachers, one by the inspectors; and the rest are appointed by the Department of Education. Two of these appointees are selected from and represent the rural

school trustees of the province.

Elementary Education.—Education is free and compulsory. The school district is the unit of administration, and the average rural district in Manitoba comprises an area of about 16 square miles. Each school district receives from the provincial treasury the sum of 65 cents per teacher per day. In addition to this the municipality, which may contain from 10 to 50 school districts, raises over its whole area a levy known as the "general school tax," which is distributed to the various districts on a basis of \$1.20 per teacher per day. The balance of the budget is raised by a special tax upon the lands comprising the district. In addition to the grant of 65 cents per day from the provincial treasury referred to above, there may be paid from this source a further grant of \$100 if the people in the locality are unable through poverty to raise a sufficient sum to operate their school, and an additional \$100 grant is given if the district has been formed in newly settled territory beyond the pale of municipal organization.